top of page

Week 4: Thoughts Shifts for Food

How do I look vs. How do I feel

Alright hear me out on this one. Trust me, I'm the first person to tell you that I don't think there is any SHAME in wanting to look good, feel good, and look GREAT in whatever clothes you want to wear. I also preach that you can think whatever thought you want to motivate yourself to do the work that you need to do in order to reach your goals. So if that motivation is looking good, then that thought is serving you and you go on with your BAD SELF and keep thinking that thought.

However, if "how do I look: is not serving you. If it is creating negative thoughts, which create negative emotions, and therefore create negative actions then we need to do some thought shifting work.

Let me example...I will often have a thought "I look GREAT...I can have ______." "I look GREAT....I don't need to focus on my eating as much" "I look GREAT...I can skip a few workouts and relax"

You see how these thoughts might not serve me. These thoughts are going to create some emotions that are going to create actions that will eventually move me in a directions that I'm not wanting to go in.

But when I have thoughts of how I am feeling instead of only on how I look; this can shift my thoughts and actions in a direction that is going to serve me and help me reach my goals.

For me personally, I can get fixated on the scale. I can get frustrated when it doesn't move and even worse when it goes in the opposite direction of how I would like even when I feel like I'm following my plan and working hard on my workouts. I often deal with thoughts of "What does it even matter?" "I'm always going to struggle with losing this weight." But when I can shift my thoughts to how I feel; I have an easier time of letting go of that number.

When you find your self having a thought that doesn't serve you. Start working to shift these thoughts. And then practice it often. One thing about changing your thoughts is that you need to practice the new thoughts frequently. Old thoughts do not die hard!

If you are unsure how to go about changing your current thoughts;

schedule a 30 FREE minute mini session with me where we can discuss what your thoughts are, I can give you a step by step approach to help you change your thoughts and get you start getting the RESULTS that you want! You can contact me at neverstopneversettlefitness@gmail.com


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page